Tag Archives: Tech Tip

Tech Tip Tuesday: Pausing Jobs and How This Could Affect Deduplication in eCapture

Here’s a common situation that could cause problems when pausing jobs and a tip to prevent it.

When it comes to pausing jobs you should know the possible impact this could create with deduplication. In general, pausing a job will not impact anything with the job, but this can change depending on other jobs that are running or will be run. Here is an example of something that can happen:

We start a job called Job A. Then we pause Job A and start another job (Job B) in the same custodian.

We are de-duplicating at the custodian level.

Let’s say Job A has processed 10 files before it was paused, one of those files was found in Job B > Job B will list the item as a duplicate of the item in Job A.

Let’s let Job B finish and unpause Job A and let it finish

The last item in Job A was a duplicate of an item in Job B > Job A will deduplicate it out, keeping the item from Job B

In this case, both jobs have an item that was deduplicated from the other. Whichever job discovers the item first will be the reference, and all other jobs will mark their items as duplicates, even if one job finishes before the other or if a job is paused.

Starting jobs

 

Let’s go over another scenario:

Let’s start Job A and let it get through the same 10 documents again, then pause it

Now we will start Job B and let it finish. One of Job B’s items is a duplicate of one of the items in Job A that is done with processing and gets deduplicated

Now we delete Job A. What happens to the item in Job B? It still is marked as a duplicate, and will still be deduplicated.

Now we are in a problem where an item is getting marked as a duplicate despite the original job being deleted. Normally if we delete Job A before starting Job B, this wouldn’t cause a problem, but because the jobs were active at the same time, the jobs are now “linked” by their duplicate items, and deleting one job means potentially re-running the other.

Knowing this ahead of time in the event you need to pause a job will ensure nothing important to your review gets missed.

For more tips be sure to check out the Ipro Community page or visit Iprotech.com.

Tech Tip Tuesday: Moving your Authorization Server

Today’s Tech Tip comes from a most asked question received on our Ipro Community.

Moving your Authorization Server

From time to time we get requests on assisting with moving an authorization server. There are many reasons why someone might want to do this, but if you forget to do some small steps, it will result in having to call Ipro Support to clear everything for you before you can reauthorize. This also affects moving serial numbers for Classic products between machines as well. So to help make things easier the next time you need to move your authorization, here is how to do it without needing to call in.

Online Authorizations
On the ORIGINAL authorization machine, open the Ipro Auth Manager. Note for eScan-IT and Copy+ this can be accessed manually by going to the install location
Click on Authorization Management > Remote Management > Deactivate
Install the Ipro Auth Manager on your NEW authorization machine and input your ClientID and Serial number from the other machine.
If it is already installed, click on Authorization Management > Remote Management > Activate
Ensure you get a Valid status in your Auth Manager

Offline Authorizations
Install the Ipro Auth Manager on your NEW authorization machine and input your ClientID and Serial number from the other machine.
Open the Ipro Auth Manager on the NEW machine
Click on Authorization Management > DAT Management > Export
Save the DAT file somewhere on your computer
Email CSR@Iprotech.com with that DAT file and request for it to be authorized. You should receive a new DAT file from them
Go back to the Ipro Auth Manager and click Authorization Management > DAT Management > Import
Select the new DAT file you received from CSR@iprotech.com
Ensure you see the Valid status in your Auth Manager

For dongle users, the only thing to remember is to move the dongle from the old machine to the new machine. If you for whatever reason can no longer access the Ipro Auth Manager from the ORIGINAL machine and you are using an online authorization, please contact Ipro Technical Support to have us clear your account manually on our end so you can reauthorize on the new machine.

For more tips, be sure to join our Ipro Community.

Tech Tip Tuesday: eCapture

eCapture

We polled our Support team and Ipro Community to find some common questions our product users had and the best resolution. Check back on Tuesdays for more tech tips to help you make the most of your Ipro investment.

Pausing Jobs and How This Could Affect Deduplication: eCapture

If you are ever in the situation where you need to pause a job in eCapture for some reason, then you should know the possible impact this could create with deduplication. In general, pausing a job will not impact anything with the job, but this can change depending on other jobs that are running or will be run. Here is an example of something that can happen:

We start a job called Job A. Then we pause Job A and start another job (Job B) in the same custodian.
We are de-duplicating at the custodian level.
Let’s say Job A has processed 10 files before it was paused, one of those files was found in Job B > Job B will list the item as a duplicate of the item in Job A.
Let’s let Job B finish and unpause Job A and let it finish
The last item in Job A was a duplicate of an item in Job B > Job A will deduplicate it out, keeping the item from Job B

In this case both jobs have an item that was deduplicated from the other. Whichever job discovers the item first will be the reference, and all other jobs will mark their items as duplicates, even if one job finishes before the other or if a job is paused. Let’s go over another scenario:

Let’s start Job A and let it get though the same 10 documents again, then pause it
Now we will start Job B and let it finish. One of Job B’s items is a duplicate of one of the items in Job A that is done with processing, and gets deduplicated
Now we delete Job A. What happens to the item in Job B? It still is marked as a duplicate and will still be deduplicated.

Now we are in a problem where an item is getting marked as a duplicate despite the original job being deleted. Normally if we delete Job A before starting Job B, this wouldn’t cause a problem, but because the jobs were active at the same time, the jobs are now “linked” by their duplicate items and deleting one job means potentially re-running the other.

For more tips, be sure to join our Ipro Community.